Getting back to our roots on our holistic homestead: Holistic Living, Cabin life & raising our own food

About Megan Hurst from Holistic Homesteading with the Hursts

Hi! I’m Megan.

Before we get into more about me, be sure to sign up for our email list so you never miss anything from me.

My husband, Bryan and I just moved into a cabin in the woods on 7 acres with our two children, Selah and Micah. We had been looking to grow our own animals and food on a larger piece of property when the Corona virus hit and we decided it was finally time to take the plunge.

We sold our home, sold our stuff and bought some land with the intention of building a tiny home and getting out of debt quickly. That idea was quickly shut down when we saw how expensive it was going to be to build our tiny home in that location.

We finally found a cabin with 1,100 sq ft of living space, one bedroom and one bathroom for our family of four to live in. We plan on remodeling as we save the money and eventually adding on an addition for two extra bedrooms and a bathroom.

Check out our cabin tour here.

More about me

I am from a small town in East Tennessee. I grew up in a subdivision that wasn’t quite right on top of people but we could still see our neighbors’ houses from the front porch.

Growing up I always wanted to move to a big city and travel. I did travel as much as I could before I got married but I never made the move to a big city and I am so glad I didn’t.

I went to cosmetology school right out of high school and worked in a salon for almost 8 years. In the middle of those 8 years I quit doing hair for almost 2 years and got my certificate to be a personal trainer which is where I met my husband.

Now, I love to cook healthy meals, redo a room and raise animals on our homestead. I’ve really been enjoying learning about all of the health benefits of growing our own food and what each animal and vegetable or fruit provides when it comes to nutrients.

You can follow more of our day to day life on my Instagram and if you like videos on holistic homesteading and our cabin renovations you can subscribe to my YouTube channel!

Fun facts about me

I played basketball all throughout my childhood until my sophomore year in high school and then switched to cheerleading.

I enjoy lifting weights and being strong.

I gave birth to both of my children at home and the second, Micah, was born so fast it ended up being unassisted. (You can watch his story here.)

I used to be a super picky eater but since I’ve become a wife and a mom, I’ve learned to cook so many things and I am willing to try anything now. I like most all things but I still don’t like chocolate.

Thank you so much for stopping by!